In Desperate Need of Help

booksmeller

Sep 10, 2012
Visit site
Hello all
I'm a jailbreak newbie. I have a 3GS ( I know, I know....ancient times, man in cave, etc....waiting for 5!!!) on 5.1.1. I've just jailbroke my phone for the 1st time.

All in all, I'm doing well. Learing slowly but surely.

BUT! There's one thing that is giving me hell! And that is iFile!

I learned that all the really cute girly tweaks/addons/what have you are not found via cydia but through various online sites, which one downloads via dropbox, then opens+unzips via iFile, then set in a certain folder and opened through winterboard for the last step. Fine. No. It's not fine! Nothing actually works afterwords! Say I download a theme, a slider, a notes theme, what have you, I put it in the themes folder in iFile then go to WB to click V, then respring. I reopen my phone and nothing's changed!

It's driving me crazy ! Is it because ALL things I d/l do not match 3GS!? Is it because I keep using iFile wrong? I kept moving things to different folders, nothing works!

I've already read all the "Read This First" threads for newbies. I'm still at a loss.

Tips? Suggestions? Advice? Powerpoint to a 5 y/o level?!

rdiddy_25

Sep 20, 2009
Visit site
Be careful using iFile cause u can really mess up ur phone if u accidentally delete something. Make sure that whatever file u dl is compatible with ur phone not just OS. HD themes and a lot of theming will really slow down ur 3GS. Good luck.

booksmeller

Sep 10, 2012
Visit site
Be careful using iFile cause u can really mess up ur phone if u accidentally delete something. Make sure that whatever file u dl is compatible with ur phone not just OS. HD themes and a lot of theming will really slow down ur 3GS. Good luck.
Right, but is there any ADVICE? Or a user-friendly version of iFile? Since from what I've noticed, all the really cool stuff aren't on cydia but downloaded from diff sites. Thanks :)

3cit

Nov 6, 2011
Visit site