iphone restarts itself at random

Apr 12, 2012
Visit site
this started about a week ago. my initial thought was the battery so i brought a new one and fitted it (i am a fairly good electrician and techy afterall). however this didnt fix the issue. i did a little research and a few people were saying that they were having this trouble with ios 5.0.1 and that upgrading to ios 5.1 seemed to fix it, so i tried that but it seemed to make it worse. the phone starts up and i can use it for about a minute or 2 but then it turns itself off and back on again. i'v tried a number of different things like cleaning the power button, fully restoring it, but nothing seems to work. its an iphone 3gs btw.

any ideas what it could be? or how i can fix it?

Apr 12, 2012
Visit site
i think it might be the HDD like a loose connection or its starting to corrupt or something... anyone wanna give their views on wether it could or couldnt be this?

jsntrenkler

Trusted Member
Mar 9, 2010
Visit site
I had something similar happen on my iPhone 4, I took it to the genius bar and they replaced it. Since your 3gs is no longer under warranty they still may replace it for you for $149.

Sent from my LG-C900 using Board Express

c_hack

Jan 27, 2011
Visit site
After 1 to 2 minutes, all regular processes should have loaded, but the internals are still warming up so it could be a hardware / thermal expansion / connection issue. Why not sell it as broke on eBay and upgrade?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Allyson Kazmucha

Apr 5, 2009
Visit site
I've seen this with a few devices people have brought in (specifically the 3GS) - unfortunately it normally ends up being a logic board issue.