Hi, I'm new to Jailbreaking. I've got a iPod Touch with iOS 2.2.1 that I'm planning to jailbreak, but I also need to update the iOS version to at least 3.1.3.

How should I do this? Should I Jailbreak it first, and then update it (if so, then how do I update a jailbroken iPod Touch)? Or should I update it and then jailbreak it? Also, do you recommend me to update to a later version than 3.1.3 (that's the oldest version I'm aiming to as some of the apps that I plan to use require it) instead? Is there any advantage in updating to a iOS version that isn't the latest one?

Thank you.
    02-17-2012 01:07 PM
    unfortunately since Apple is no longer signing 3.1.3 you cannot update to it. assuming you never updated to 3.1.3, saved shsh blobs and the went back to 2.2.1 . depending on the generation of your device, it will determine the latest OS that CAN be installed onto it

personally, i would update to the latest OS and then jailbreak. you cannot jailbreak before updating your OS
    02-17-2012 01:26 PM
    unfortunately since Apple is no longer signing 3.1.3 you cannot update to it. assuming you never updated to 3.1.3, saved shsh blobs and the went back to 2.2.1 . depending on the generation of your device, it will determine the latest OS that CAN be installed onto it

personally, i would update to the latest OS and then jailbreak. you cannot jailbreak before updating your OS
    Hmmm... just noticed that Cydia is installed in the iPod. Does this mean the it's already jailbroken? If so, how should I go about updating?
    02-17-2012 01:47 PM
    i would assume it is jailbroken. what happens when you try to go into Cydia?

just for starting over purposes, i would restore as new to the latest firmware (plug into your iTunes and select Restore. when given the option: restore as new device) and then jailbreak
    02-17-2012 02:08 PM
    Cydia seems to work properly, so yes, looks like it's jailbroken.