Scared to Jailbreak

sherlock

Sep 6, 2010
Visit site
I am new to the jailbreak scene as well and was shocked at how simple and fast the whole process was using Absinthe. It went very smoothly and then I used TinyUmbrella to save my SHSH. Because to tell you the truth there's no way I want to ever loose my JB! Be sure and look over the thread about favorite jailbreak apps. :D

Lenerdosy

Oct 11, 2011
Visit site
It's easy as pie pretty much. 1 click to run the program and phone does work. I couldn't go back to stock unless apple included most of my little tweaks into their stock, there are a few tweaks that have made doing things 10x easier.

iGrannyApple

Jan 23, 2012
Visit site
I don't know if it is lack of knowledge on my part or limitations of iOS but I don't seem to be able to customize my iPhone as much as I could the BlackBerry. More than likely it is lack of knowledge since I'm trying to learn to use the iPhone, iPad and Macbook Pro all at the same time.

reltm

Nov 7, 2011
Visit site
When you say you can restore the phone using iTunes, does it restore to your pre-jailbreak setup or is the only option to restore to factory, reinstall all the apps, settings, etc. This sounds like a pain. With an Android phone you could restore to a nandroid backup. Is there anything like that for the iPhone?

Second question is about iOS updates -- I'm really eager to see what the new iOS update brings (hoping for Siri and gps/maps improvements). How do you update a jailbroken phone?

Thanks!!

reltm

Nov 7, 2011
Visit site
I want to do this simply to get rid of the requirement of using wifi to d/l files bigger than 20MB

Depending on what you want to do, you might not need to JB. For instance, if you want to download podcasts, check out an app like Instacast.

emjayess

Nov 24, 2011
Visit site
I would like to repost reltm's post (#29) because I have the same questions and I don't want it to get lost in the shuffle: