Unjailbreaking a phone that can't sync with iTunes

peachytiff

Oct 7, 2011
Visit site
Ok guys.

I am a serious amateur here with a very uncommon issue.

I have a Macbook and my software is very old. I have the most recent version of Tiger. I would update to leopard, but my cd slot has been jammed for awhile and won't read anything I put in there. Because of this, my iTunes software is out of date and it won't allow me to sync to my new iPhone 4 which I bought in May.

Anyway, a friend jailbroke my phone for me and I find I don't really end up using it because Cydia is too complicated and confusing for me. Plus, my phone seems more 'buggy' to me since the jailbreak. And today I wanted to start using iBooks but have realized that it won't work on a jailbroken device.

Any ideas on how to unjailbreak my phone without hooking up to iTunes and without losing all my photos/videos, etc??

TIA!

Ipheuria

Jul 21, 2009
Visit site
You can't do both things you've asked for. If you don't have access to a computer or a friend with a computer then you could email all the photos you want to make sure you don't lose. Then take it to an Apple store and ask them to do a restore for you. Tell them your Mac isn't up to date enough. If they notice you're JBen tell them a friend, son, wife, girlfriend did it and you want it restored to remove it. If you can get use of a friend's computer then do a backup, restore and restore from your backup to put your data back.

Massie

Feb 9, 2010
Visit site
Ok guys.

I am a serious amateur here with a very uncommon issue.

I have a Macbook and my software is very old. I have the most recent version of Tiger. I would update to leopard, but my cd slot has been jammed for awhile and won't read anything I put in there. Because of this, my iTunes software is out of date and it won't allow me to sync to my new iPhone 4 which I bought in May.