Any recommendations to new Sprint users regarding service/repair and or insurance.

Maestro1#AC

Oct 5, 2011
Visit site
Hi I am new to TIPB, coming from precentral. As their will be no new WebOS phone ive decided to jump on to the next best thing on Sprint being the Iphone 4S. And I am looking for recommendations as what the best options is for service and repair/ and or insurance plans. Go through Sprint or Apple?

Sprint offers TEP(total equipment protection) for $8 per month. this includes two parts service and repair aka ESRP (usually $4/month) and your typical 3rd party insurance aka ERP (usually $4/month +$100 deductible per incident). I do not use any of these on my plan, but I am trying figure out what my mom should do on her family plan that includes 3 teenage girls.

Basically the ESRP should fix or replace your phone for free and it covers everything, including warranty repair through sprint and not manufacturer. Not covered obviously is lost,stolen, liquid damage, and physical damage; in which you would then have to use insurance ERP. However Sprint service and repair is very shady sometimes, they will try to always push you to go through the insurance and pay the deductible, even when its something that should be covered.

I was wondering should we just go through apple for all repair needs, maybe with apple care+ program, (even though it doesnt cover lost phones). Or maybe just the insurance portion from sprint ERP at $4/month to cover incidents, and forget about the sprint service and repair because i could go through apple for that for free for the first year. Any suggestions?

Last edited:

Maestro1#AC

Oct 5, 2011
Visit site