Total Newb Question regarding VZ Iphone 4 and IOS updates......Need help Please!

Johnny-5

Feb 12, 2011
Visit site
Ive read somewhere that I shouldnt download anything higher than 4.2.8 IOS is that correct? If so Im having issues with finding 4.2.8 IOS in zip format and Snowbreeze is not seeing it. This is my first update. Phone is currently jailbreaked.

Any help with best easiest way to upgrade the OS and rejailbreak would be greatly appriciated.

Ipheuria

Jul 21, 2009
Visit site
what are the 4.2.8 files you download? they should be ipsw. Go to iClarified - Apple News and Tutorials go to Tutorials, iPhone, Basic and "Where to find firmware". Also your extensions might just not be showing in Windows. If this is the case lookup how to show file extensions in Windows. If you're getting them as a zipped file (.zip) search on here I've seen threads about it before.

Johnny-5

Feb 12, 2011
Visit site
what are the 4.2.8 files you download? they should be ipsw. Go to iClarified - Apple News and Tutorials go to Tutorials, iPhone, Basic and "Where to find firmware". Also your extensions might just not be showing in Windows. If this is the case lookup how to show file extensions in Windows. If you're getting them as a zipped file (.zip) search on here I've seen threads about it before.

Yea sorry I should have stated that. It saves the file as a zip file so I went in and changed the type to itunes which I believe Im supposed to. Ill have to do some researching on that. But once i figured out the IOS issue what is the steps for installing it and rejailbreaking it?

Johnny-5

Feb 12, 2011
Visit site
Ok I just converted it to ipsw what I need it to be. So now Im just needing assistance with the upgrade and rejailbreaking the phone. Now I have some using SnowBreeze and some others using Redsnow?? Whats the difference?

Johnny-5

Feb 12, 2011
Visit site