JB and Verizon Issues... are these normal?

iridium7777#CB

Aug 8, 2011
Visit site
I'll try to make a long story short. I'm new to iphone since I'm on Verizon and got one as soon as they came out. I'm also on a Mac if that matters.

1) Started with 4.2.6 and JB it with GreenPoison on the first day. Phone worked OK but I could never update carrier settings, neither OTA or through itunes. I was fine with that, but still noticed that it was a problem.

2) Some apps required higher version so I decided to go to 4.2.8 since there was an easy JB through JB.com. I tried updating through Itunes and kept getting the 1013 error. I downloaded the tinyumbrella and between putting the phone into recovery and unrecovering, in about 2 hours of hitting buttons even after the 1013 error and Itunes saying the update failed, the phone somehow rebooted and I was running 4.2.8

3) JB the 4.2.8 with JB.com and used the pdf patch from cydia. Phone was running fine but to skip over a lot of things, I needed to update to 4.2.10 even if i lost the JB. So today I tried to upgrade to 4.2.10 and I kept getting the 1013 error again and exiting recovery in tinyumbrella did absolutely nothing but literally duplicate my phone under "current devices". eventually i had like 5 iphones listed and it just shutdown.

I got the phone exchanged curtesy of the local store and i'm extremely grateful. The replacement phone is 4.2.6 and now I'm scared to JB again. I've went through 2 versions of JB and it got progressively worse and eventually fully bricked my phone.

IS this the nature of JB? Some go fine, some brick phones? I don't think I want to take that chance again, but wondering if this is something that was specific to my phone, to mac or does this happen to everyone eventually?

iridium7777#CB

Aug 8, 2011
Visit site
and now another problem. so this is a clean 4.2.6 phone, i didn't want to jb on this version so i thought i'd upgrade to 4.2.8 for which i have a file saved locally.