1. jayhawkfan18's Avatar
    I am jailbroken with greenpois0n and running 4.2.6 and need to completely wipe my device without plugging it up to iTunes. If I go into Settings>General> Reset & choose "Erase all content and settings" will this accomplish what I am wanting? Will I lose jailbreak?

    TIA.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    07-19-2011 10:49 AM
  2. Eileen89's Avatar
    Yes, you will lose jailbreak. When you erase all content and settings it forces your phone into recovery mode. You will end up having to plug your iPhone into iTunes and restoring it.
    Last edited by Irish Rose; 07-19-2011 at 10:57 AM.
    07-19-2011 10:51 AM
  3. jayhawkfan18's Avatar
    Thanks for the reply. Will just removing my contacts, email Accts, photos etc manually be ok or would that leave some valuable info on my iPhone? I would log out of iTunes as well...


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    07-19-2011 11:42 AM
  4. Alli's Avatar
    You always risk leaving something on the phone. Why can't you restore as new and re-jailbreak?
    07-19-2011 12:05 PM
  5. wsm23#IM's Avatar
    I made this mistake a long time age and found out the hard way, Just restore and re-jailbreak like Alli suggested.
    07-19-2011 12:06 PM
  6. jayhawkfan18's Avatar
    I was trying to wipe it without going home & connecting it to my PC. But to be safe I guess I'll just take the time to do that. How long does it take to restore? I don't need to jailbreak again after that. I'm just pressed for time today & need to get this done...


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    07-19-2011 12:57 PM
  7. liquidzoo's Avatar
    Depends. If it's a straight Restore as New and doesn't encounter any issues it could be done within 30 minutes. If it does have any kind of issue...it could very well be much longer than that.
    07-19-2011 01:14 PM
  8. wsm23#IM's Avatar
    The problem is the Jailbreak, it will not allow you to do a restore through the phone. If you do, it will take you straight to the Apple screen. You really have no choice but a restore through your computer. A restore for me usually takes about 15 minutes or so, maybe a little longer if you have to download the firmware.
    07-19-2011 01:30 PM
  9. jayhawkfan18's Avatar
    Thanks everyone. Since I'm still on 4.2.6 I'm guessing it's going to take a little while...


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    07-19-2011 01:57 PM
  10. Ipheuria's Avatar
    Actually without going home if you found another computer with iTunes and connected up and synced it, it would tell you that you're syncing with a new library and this will wipe everything off the phone. You could also just hit restore and it would return it to when you first got it home. You don't need to do this specifically from your machine unless you plan to restore something or sync before you wipe it and by the sounds of it you don't.
    07-19-2011 03:10 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD