How to access wallpaper?

icebox93

Jan 11, 2011
Visit site
I have jailbroken my verizon iphone. I'm a newbie at this. I downloaded winterboard, and have user wallpaper enabled. I downloaded some promising looking wallpapers from cydia, but I cannot find them on the phone. I looked in settings/wallpaper and in winterboard's settings but I can't find them. Among the wallpaper batches I downloaded were angelical abstract, around the color wheel, and "is it nature." I assume that wallpapers can be used independently of a theme, so how do I find them on the phone?

edit: Poking around on the web, I noticed others with this problem, but no solution. I found where the cydia wallpapers are in the file system. They're in /var/stash/wallpaper.jUylob/ . But I still can't access them. I noticed a few things while poking around with a file viewer.

The default wallpapers are in a subfolder there called iphone. Each of those wallpapers has three files: the wallpaper and two thumbnail files. And all of the files are in png format. The cydia wallpapers, on the other hand, are a mix of png and jpgs, and none come with thumbnail files. The file viewer renders the pngs but not the jpgs. So here are my questions in light of this:

1a) Is the lack of thumbs the reason for the missing wallpapers?

1b) Can I set or view the wallpaper from the GUI even without having the thumbs to work with?

2) Can the iphone use jpg wallpaper?

3) If the wallpaper needs to move down a folder, how do I move the files there?

Thanks!

Last edited:

icebox93

Jan 11, 2011
Visit site