Hi everyone,
    I've just upgraded from my iPhone 2G to a 3G (I'm a student, so funds are tight...). The 3G is on iOS4.0.2 and I would like to Jailbreak it so I can get apps like backgrounder and status notifier. The previous owner took it to a shop to have it unlocked.

I am on the Orange network and apparently the phone was originally on Orange, but now it is unlocked. If I were to Jailbreak it, would I lose the unlock that was provided by the shop (I don't know which method they used, but it took about 20 minutes?), and is there any way of making sure that it was originally on Orange, because I don't mind if I lose the unlock if I can still use my Orange sim with it.

Also, would someone be able to provide a link to a proven method of jailbreaking it on iOS 4.0.2? Is it worth updating to 4.1, before I jailbreak it, and then waiting for a jailbreak method to be released? How easy is it to update to 4.1 at a later date if I jailbreak it on 4.0.2? Many questions.....

Cheers,
    Peter
    09-10-2010 10:40 AM
    77 views and no replies? So I thought sod it and went on a voyage of discovery earlier today.

I reverted my 3G from iOS 4.0.2 to iOS 3.1.3. I then used the pwnage tool method to jailbreak it on the 3.1.3 firmware. Once it was booted into the jailbroken 3.1.3 I had the no service problem. I solved this by installing ultrasn0w, and restarted. Bam! Now I'm typing this on my fully jailbroken iPhone 3G which I've reverted from 4.0.2 to 3.1.3. I must say that 4.0.2 ran pretty well on this iPhone, but 3.1.3 runs a little quicker and the battery life is much improved. I am now happy and I think I'll stay jailbroken on iOS 3.1.3 as it's probably the best OS for the 3G from my experience.
    09-11-2010 05:27 PM
    could of saved yourself a lot of time by doing a quick search and using jailbreakme to jailbreak and unlock the phone right on the phone itself

but congrats on your upgrade
    09-12-2010 05:22 AM