1. starbai's Avatar
    My Iphone is jailbroken and unlocked on 3.1.2... I want to sell the phone to my cousin but I want to get all my information off of it... I dont need to back it up, I just want to wipe it clean of my info.

    The problem is the only ways I can think of doing it may require me to upgrade the firmware to 3.1.3 and I dont want to do that beacuse I want the phone to remain jailbroken and unlocked.

    Does anyone know if this is possible? or do I have to go and manually delete everything?

    Thanks in advance guys!
    05-11-2010 02:20 PM
  2. Wiltron's Avatar
    You can shift-click restore to 3.1.2 - keeping your unlock and allowing you to JB.

    Add 74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com to your hosts file located at C:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\
    Shift Click Restore in iTunes when phone is plugged in, locate your downloaded 3.1.2 firmware file
    Wait until complete.

    Download iRecovery from Hackintosh (Google it, first result) and enter the following commands at a command prompt, when the phone has the "Plug into itunes" logo.

    setenv auto-boot true
    saveenv
    exit

    Reboot phone - hold sleep and home until phone restarts.

    Plug into itunes one last time, make sure to not sync or use a backup
    05-11-2010 04:23 PM
  3. starbai's Avatar
    You can shift-click restore to 3.1.2 - keeping your unlock and allowing you to JB.

    Add 74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com to your hosts file located at C:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\
    Shift Click Restore in iTunes when phone is plugged in, locate your downloaded 3.1.2 firmware file
    Wait until complete.

    Download iRecovery from Hackintosh (Google it, first result) and enter the following commands at a command prompt, when the phone has the "Plug into itunes" logo.

    setenv auto-boot true
    saveenv
    exit

    Reboot phone - hold sleep and home until phone restarts.

    Plug into itunes one last time, make sure to not sync or use a backup
    I really appreciate the detailed response... didn't expect such a through reply but am glad you did.

    Unfortunately I am using a Mac and I'm no where near as well versed with it as I am with a PC... I've done things to the HOSTS file before in Windows but I've never messed with anything in terminal under OSX...

    Can anyone help me with a similar set of insturctions such as this for me, a mac user? Whatever you suggest, terminal or not, I'll google it if I dont understand your post fully, and will figure out how to do it.
    05-11-2010 06:02 PM
  4. starbai's Avatar
    Anyone? Anyone?
    05-12-2010 01:57 PM
  5. JustinHorn's Avatar
    Never jailbroken a phone so not sure if it removes the option in the settings of a non-jailbroken phone, but check and see.

    Settings > General > Reset

    In here there is a "Erase all content and settings", but not sure if it's still there for JB.
    05-12-2010 02:56 PM
  6. starbai's Avatar
    Never jailbroken a phone so not sure if it removes the option in the settings of a non-jailbroken phone, but check and see.

    Settings > General > Reset

    In here there is a "Erase all content and settings", but not sure if it's still there for JB.
    thanks for the tip.

    does anyone know if this would affect the fact that its jailbroken/unlocked? in otherwords, would its jailbroken-ness be one of the settings it erases?
    05-12-2010 02:59 PM
  7. Wiltron's Avatar
    I am certain that the jailbreak would not exist after a reset from the phone - your phone has a copy of the currently installed firmware backed up on the device so when you hit reset it restores it
    05-12-2010 06:51 PM
  8. rdiddy_25's Avatar
    If u do a reset thru your phone, that will wipe ur jb just as if you'd done it thru iTunes. Just take the time to delete all ur contacts, pics, text, call log and email. Simple.
    05-12-2010 08:21 PM
  9. Wiltron's Avatar
    Yes it will but you can re jailbreak and unlock it - this method will not upgrade any software as you've never plugged it into iTunes.

    Just after the restore - re jailbreak the phone and use sn0w to unlock it. DO NOT upgrade to 3.1.3 if you want to keep your unlock.
    05-13-2010 01:12 AM
  10. rdiddy_25's Avatar
    Very tru Wiltron. Starbai, keep in mind that method may take between and hour or two to complete, but u wot be upgrading which is a good thing.
    05-13-2010 09:12 AM
  11. Guzman's Avatar
    my suggestion is just do it the correct way and wipe the whole device like they suggested. Then Re JB/Unlock it so that you have that piece of mind.

    ....you can also always drive over it, and cremate the remains... that is a surefire way to do it Not sure if your cousin would still want it though. lol
    05-13-2010 11:32 AM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD