Newbie here.....

hoping someone can answer a question ...looking at a new 32gb 3gs with serial number 86939XXXXXX....so it should be from 39th week of 09.

i do not know the bootrom(iboot),or the baseband.

Im assuming it is still version 3.1.2 since the serial number is from last year.

can anyone tell me with any certainty,can i JB and unlock this with only knowing the serial number????

thanks!
    03-22-2010 11:55 PM
    why can't you access the phone info like firmware and baseband under general setting?
    03-23-2010 12:46 AM
    I have a 32GB 3GS and the serial starts with 88929xxxx and it's a non-tethered jailbreak. I don't know that anyone can tell you with certainty that you'll be able to jailbreak it without knowing the firmware it has.
    03-23-2010 01:26 AM
    If you take the iPhone, go to ih8sn0w.com and run the program on that website called f0recast, it will tell you right then and there all of the information you need.
    03-23-2010 03:11 AM
    thanks guys....

ok i did find that 32gb phone from 39th week of 09,which was very lucky for this late in time.....got lucky finding at a store which obviously doesnt sell many 32gbs....thanks to a tip off youtube about serial numbers!

ok now that i actually have phone in hand and am able to look....

i have software Version 3.1(7C144)

Modem firmware 05.11.07(baseband)

I want to JB and Unlock....

Questions....

1-Do i need to JB to unlock??

2-Can i JB only then unlock it later when i get my T-mobile SIM?

3-DO i need my NEW SIM from T-mobile in hand before i unlock?

4- my goal is to run my Rogers SIM when on canada side of border,and run a T-mobile SIM on US side of border.

any help is much appreciated....i wont be getting my T-mobile SIM for a few weeks till i head down to states.

thanks!
    03-25-2010 12:36 AM
    If you take the iPhone, go to ih8sn0w.com and run the program on that website called f0recast, it will tell you right then and there all of the information you need.