Hi all!

Basically i have come to the conclusion that i need the 3.1.2 update on my Jailbroken 3.0.1 Iphone 3GS.

What id like to know is, is it possible to get onto 3.1.2 without having to do a fresh restore on my iphone and then rejailbreak? Is there like a jailbreak update rather than fresh install?

If i have to restore my iphone and then jailbreak straight to 3.1.2 how can i back all my apps, themes and installed cydia goodies so i can easily get them back on my phone?

Im quite new to jailbreaking and have only ever done it once and that was a long time ago.

Thanks for any kind responses.
    01-26-2010 03:33 PM
    I have my iPod Touch JB with 3.1.2. Used BlackRain to do it and did it fast. Only problem is, if you shut your phone off, you will need to JB it again. Not sure if there is another way. Should be tho, but only for Macs from what I've read.
    01-26-2010 03:38 PM
    I very very rarely switch my phone off.

If i just run blackrain 3.1.2 now and it installs over my already jailbroken 3.0.1 it will still update perfectly fine to 3.1.2 but whenever i have to switch my phone back on i will have to rerun blackrain?

If im away from a computer say at work and my phone needs rebooting if i turned it off and then on what exactly would happen?
    01-26-2010 03:41 PM
    I have my iPod Touch JB with 3.1.2. Used BlackRain to do it and did it fast. Only problem is, if you shut your phone off, you will need to JB it again. Not sure if there is another way. Should be tho, but only for Macs from what I've read.
    tethered isn't a Mac vs PC thing. It has to do with the phone
    01-26-2010 04:06 PM
    Well, tethered jailbreak is the only way that I have found to get working for me. All other methods are for Macs only.

But getting back to the question, if you did sue blackrain and had to reboot your phone, then yes, you would have to run the jailbreak again.
    01-26-2010 04:37 PM