1. joshwhat's Avatar
    i would like to know if i can factory reset an unlocked iphone? I know i can restore a jailbreak but unlock is the next level.

    3gs, 3.1.2, 05.11.07, blackra1n and sn0w unlock.

    regards
    01-13-2010 07:29 AM
  2. en0c's Avatar
    Yes you can always restore. But you will lose the JB AND unlock.
    01-13-2010 07:49 AM
  3. ekitten's Avatar
    Fair warning -- I did a reset from my iPhone, choosing "Erase All Content and Settings" before returning my defective phone. The phone warned me it would take an hour, so I falsely assumed this would wipe all the data, not just unlink it. When I got to the Apple store, the tech plugged in my phone and showed me the blackra1n icon still on it.

    Fortunately, I told him I had only installed it because the phone was broken and I read a thread that connected blackra1n with a "no service" fix -- which is true (I now know that was a pointless pursuit). I also told him I had no use for an unlocked phone since I had just re-upped my 2yr contract (I've since read Wireless' 6 reasons to jailbreak article). The tech said he would just erase the phone so my warrantee won't be voided. If you're reading this, don't try to fake this argument yourself because I doubt it will work if you're not sincere.

    The moral is that restoring from the iPhone doesn't actually wipe your content, as one might think! Very disturbing. I hope he really did erase the phone as he said allowing others access to my email, for example.

    This begs the question -- can I really depend upon iTunes to wipe my phone when it does the restore?
    01-13-2010 09:20 AM
  4. en0c's Avatar
    Yes. As long as you start by putting the iPhone in DFU Mode. And after restoring you set it up as new.
    01-13-2010 11:16 AM
  5. Alli's Avatar
    Don't restore to a previous version - restore as new. If you really want to make sure it's all totally wiped, go to the settings, General, (all the way at the bottom) Reset, and tep the 2nd option "Erase All Content and Settings."
    01-13-2010 11:30 AM
  6. ekitten's Avatar
    NO NO NO Alli, Read my post again...

    After restoring from iPhone (via "Erase All Content and Settings.") the Apple "Genius" was able to recover the blackra1n icon from my phone. I saw it with my own eyes. Sneaky.

    "Erase" from iPhone settings must really be just an Unlink.
    01-13-2010 01:08 PM
  7. en0c's Avatar
    @ekitten
    Read Alli's post again. The beginning is the important part...
    01-13-2010 01:12 PM
  8. ekitten's Avatar
    OK, thanks guys --

    But if the "erase all content" only unlinks the data, it doesn't help to run it after the restore, assuming the restore actually does the wipe, right?
    01-13-2010 01:26 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD