Blackra1n Jailbreak on 3.1.2 3Gs

threestarzrx7

Jan 8, 2010
Visit site
Hello all I am new so I will introduce myself. My name is Matt Bourguignon. I live in Daytona Beach, Florida. I am a student at Daytona State College. I have a 16GB iPhone 3Gs running on AT&T.

I just decided to jailbreak in the interest of having internet tethering. My AT&T 3G service is about 3 Mb/s but my home connection is only about 768kb/s. It made sense to have the iPhone available to use as a modem when I am simply tired of slow internet download speeds.

I used Blackra1n to jailbreak my iPhone and installed Cydia. In order to reboot my iPhone now I must connect to my computer and use Blackra1n to reboot the iPhone. I just got back from a two week trip to the north and am imagining the horror this would have been then. My first day saw issues with my iPhone on the AT&T network on Long Island and so I had to reboot. Needing my computer would have been a disaster as I don't bring a laptop on vacation!

Now I am wondering what my options are. PdaNet is a wonderful tethering app. I am actually posting this using PdaNet to get internet on my computer. I only really jailbroke for the one feature but I am mildly interested in playing with Cydia apps, customization (5 app springboard, etc.), and all that jazz. Can I fix my current jailbreak somehow so that I don't need Blackra1n to boot my iPhone every time? If not, is this just the reality of Blackra1n for OS 3.1.2/3Gs or do I just need to restore the iPhone and do the jailbreak over again (maybe I did something wrong/something went wrong?)

I am very new to jailbreaking. I wasn't even going to do it initially. I am fairly tech savvy and I can pick new things up pretty quick in a pinch or when otherwise motivated. I just need some advice and some direction in this case. I know that I don't know anyone here so I appreciate any helpful feedback I can get.

God bless,
-Matt

sargd66

Apr 4, 2009
Visit site