PwnageTool vs blackra1n: What am I missing?

subgenious#IM

Nov 23, 2009
Visit site
I'm a new 3GS user having just switched from my much hated BB curve a couple weeks ago, and I'm curious about all the suggestions I'm seeing for the use of blackra1n on the forum. Granted I'm no Apple expert yet, but I've managed to jailbreak my phone using pwnagetool and modify it to my heart's content and I don't understand what would cause someone to accept a tethered jailbreak when there is an alternative that works perfectly (for me at least).

Anything I'm missing here? I hate to be sending people in the wrong direction by suggesting pwnagetool to do a stable jailbreak, but I just don't see the draw of blackra1n aside from the ease of use (and pwnage isn't exactly brain surgery).

BENGRIMM

Aug 13, 2009
Visit site
There is no differeance , they both jailbreak the iphone . But Blackra1n is pretty much one click . Also not all 3GS have a tethered JB

Ipheuria

Jul 21, 2009
Visit site
The difference between pwnage tool and blackra1n is pwnage tool is a Mac only tool while blackra1n is for both. I am on Mac and have only ever used pwnage tool but in some instances it may be necessary to use blackra1n. I also beleive if the phone has been JB on 3.0 you can use pwnage to upgrade to 3.1.2 JB. However if the phone is already on OEM 3.1.2 I don't know if you can use pwnage tool to JB it. I'm not 100% sure on that but if that is the case you would then want to use blackra1n in that case.

Last edited:

subgenious#IM

Nov 23, 2009
Visit site
Ok, that makes sense. The comment about not all 3GS being tether free jailbreakable pretty much cements my point I think. I believe all models made in November onward won't work properly with blackra1n (require tether), but for sure mine worked just fine with pwnage and the serial number matches the ones that have blackra1n issues.

I suppose one click is nice, but I'd rather spend 10 minutes and have something that actually works.