1. Joe_G#IM's Avatar
    Now that you can't downgrade to 3.0 or 3.01 on the 3GS, do you HAVE to restore before jailbreaking with Redsn0w (per the iClarified tutorial) or can you just run Redsn0w without restoring?

    Any downsides to not restoring before jailbreaking?

    I've asked this question on several sites, no answer - I hope someone here with some experience can chime in an help!
    Thanks in advance.
    10-11-2009 03:41 PM
  2. tsuehpsyde's Avatar
    No, you don't need to restore prior to doing a JB. You can use redsn0w how it is now. Just be aware that if something goes wrong, you'll have to restore to the current version (3.1.2) since there's no way to restore to 3.0 without your files being on Saurik's server.

    Not to mention you can jailbreak 3.0, then use PwnageTool to upgrade to 3.1 (or 3.1.2 when they update it) and keep your baseband at the 3.0 version so you can unlock your phone.
    10-11-2009 03:53 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD