wallpapers and jailbreaking

Gary86

Jul 28, 2009
Visit site
I'm new to the iphone world. I have the 3Gs and i was curious is jailbreaking the only way to see your wallpaper all the time not just on the lock screen? If so, whats the easiest way to jail break a iphone?

HabsFan

Jul 20, 2009
Visit site
Yes, to get a theme or have your wallpaper appear in the background all the time you need to jailbreak.

I used Purplerain to jail break mine. It was very easy, basically download it, plug in the iphone and push "make it rain". I did backup my ibec, ibss files and the ibss certificate just in case I needed them. You don't have to if you don't want to, but I figured I would just play it safe. Here some links to read regarding teh ibec and ibss files:

To get your ibec and ibss files to save (in case they are needed for a future jailbreak):
iClarified - iPhone - How to Capture Your iPhone 3GS iBEC and iBSS (Windows) (Windows)
iClarified - iPhone - How to Capture Your iPhone 3GS iBEC and iBSS (Mac) [Updated] (Mac)

This site has a program that will automatically grab your ibec and ibss files so you don't have to manually copy them from the temp folder because they disappear quickly:
Jailbird ? Blog Archive ? ECID Grabber & iBEC and iBSS Grabber

To get your ibss certificate:
Get Your 3G S iBSS Certificate for Upcoming Jailbreak | PurpleRa1n

For a guide on using purple rain:
iClarified - iPhone - How to Jailbreak Your iPhone 3GS Using PurpleRa1n (Windows) (Windows)
iClarified - iPhone - How to Jailbreak Your iPhone 3GS Using PurpleRa1n (Mac) (Mac)

iclarified also as a step by step guide on jailbreaking with purplerain but it is very easy to do. Really just have to push a button.

Gary86

Jul 28, 2009
Visit site