purplera1n for the Mac & RC2a

Matt74

Mar 6, 2009
Visit site
A few mins ago, geohot released purplera1n for the Mac, as well as a minor upgrade to the windows version.

From geohot's blog:

geohot said:
purplera1n...for mac
You asked for it, and we delivered. I'm not a mac coder, so AriX and westbaer stepped up to do it. Check out AriX's blog here. Download link on purplera1n.com, and thank AriX and westbaer next time you see them!

Also, some more payload stability improvements were made, and the windows version was updated to RC2a. There is no reason to run RC2a if you already have RC2 installed.

And for the record, I'm now leaning towards the distinct possibility that geohot is correct when he asserts that the winterboard and iRealSMS issues are on their end, and not caused by the JB.

Saurik had admitted that winterboard needed to be recoded for 3.0 on the 3GS, and that it hasn't been done yet. His statement about the problems coming from a missing kernel patch was made when RC1 was available, and not since.

That, and iRealSMS had just barely gotten their product to the point where the beta wasn't crashing SB on 3.0.

From what I've seen on my phone, most of the apps that work on the 3G JB version work on the 3GS JB.

But that's just my uneducated gut feeling based on my own tinkering.

Edit: Here's a link to saurik's statements as a point of reference.

Last edited:
Reactions: Jeremy

Noonan

Jun 15, 2009
Visit site
I really want to JB my 3GS... but I am new iPhone user all together.

I really dont want to ruin the phone since I so very pleased with it. What are the risks? Is this something an iPhone n00b can get through?

faslane

Jul 6, 2009
Visit site
Do IT!