Will Apple make a future iPod Touch?

Flow39

Jun 26, 2014
Visit site
Don't they usually get announced during the iPhone event in September?

I meant that the OP would know soon enough if there is going to be a newer version.

Sent from my iPod touch using iMore Forums

They used to be in September, until the 5th generation iPod Touch. :)

But I see what you are saying. Soon enough we'll see a new iPod Touch

Ronin64

Aug 15, 2014
Visit site
I hope they will release one with the bigger screen of the rumoured iPhone 6. As a developer I use a couple iPod Touches as dev units instead of buying a more costly iPhone. For example the iPod Touch 5th gen has the same screen as the iPhone 5 except a little slower. So if my app runs great on the iPod I know it will run as good or better on the faster iPhone.

Flow39

Jun 26, 2014
Visit site
I hope they will release one with the bigger screen of the rumoured iPhone 6. As a developer I use a couple iPod Touches as dev units instead of buying a more costly iPhone. For example the iPod Touch 5th gen has the same screen as the iPhone 5 except a little slower. So if my app runs great on the iPod I know it will run as good or better on the faster iPhone.

That would be nice. I'd even consider picking one up, even though I'm not a developer. :)

Harry Wild

May 25, 2013
Visit site
Apple would not have to do much to it; just keep the same case and upgrade the SoC to A7, get the 802.11AC and that pretty much it! All Apple has to do is cut and paste a new board from the iPhone 5S components!

Cost would be very inexpensive.

eve6er69

Trusted Member
Jun 12, 2011
Visit site
I own both a note and a iPhone. With that said I love my note for more things than my iPhone. One thing I do enjoy about the iPhone is my familiarity with the mp3 UI. I don't think it warrants me using my iPhone over my note. So when I get my insurance replacement one day I will go back to using my iPod touch as my primary media device.