Why are some people viewing the iPhone XR as an illegitimate iPhone?

Tpence2177

Trusted Member
Nov 2, 2011
Visit site
Great device and screen don’t really see any difference from the so called better ones just a better price!

Same here. I’ve compared them both in different apps several times side by side and I don’t see the terrible screen that some people are talking about. I have been wearing glasses for over 20 years now though so I don’t have the best eye sight. Oh well works for me cause I get to save money and not care that I don’t have the best screen. I usually can tell but Apple did a good job on the Liquid Retina from what I can see. Must be good since the new iPad pros will have Liquid Retina displays as well and everyone seems to be fine with that.

phlamethrowre

Feb 5, 2014
Visit site
I looked at the XR and XS side by side today and there is a big difference. I wear progressive eyeglasses so when look at something up close through the bottom of the lenses it is very very clear. Probably better than most people who don’t wear glasses. The difference is clearly visible. That said, most people won’t notice it because our eyes aren’t as good as we think they are.

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
I looked at the XR and XS side by side today and there is a big difference. I wear progressive eyeglasses so when look at something up close through the bottom of the lenses it is very very clear. Probably better than most people who don’t wear glasses. The difference is clearly visible. That said, most people won’t notice it because our eyes aren’t as good as we think they are.

Are you referring to the displays?

metllicamilitia

Ambassador
Dec 25, 2011
Visit site
To achieve the same ppi means having to add pixels. If the same number of pixels was used between both displays then the XR would have a lower ppi. So they have the same ppi and therefore the same resolution.