1. Aqeel ahmed4's Avatar
    How To Block Someone in Google Photos Via iPhone?
    06-13-2018 03:26 AM
  2. Just_Me_D's Avatar
    I don’t use the Google Photos app, but I’d like to think there is a setting that disables sharing or disables access to your photos.
    06-13-2018 06:49 AM
  3. Lee_Bo's Avatar
    How To Block Someone in Google Photos Via iPhone?
    I've look all through the app and don't see any place to specifically block anyone. However, unless you have anything shared in your photos, then nobody will see your photos anyway. Just like iCloud Photos, nobody seems my photos unless I share them or create a shared album.
    06-13-2018 11:07 AM
  4. Almeuit's Avatar
    Are you talking about if you shared something? Just un-share it.
    libra89 likes this.
    06-13-2018 11:59 AM
  5. Ledsteplin's Avatar
    As far as I know, no one can see your photos in Google Photos, unless you share them, using the share feature. And then, only those you share with see them.
    06-13-2018 03:47 PM
  6. doogald's Avatar
    And then, only those you share with see them.
    So, that is not true. Google Photos are basically secure, but once you share a photo with somebody (anybody) and they get the URL, there is nothing to prevent them (or anyone else) from seeing the photo from that URL. That URL is not account protected or anything like that. The URL is pseudo-random and unguessable, but once it is out there and shared with anybody, anyone who connects to that URL will see the photo.

    See https://www.alexkras.com/do-not-shar...google-photos/ and https://www.theverge.com/2015/6/23/8...vacy-protected

    So, to stop sharing any photo, go to https://photos.google.com/sharing on a computer browser, and it will list all of the photos that you have shared. You can turn off sharing for any photo that you like. Do that and nobody else will be able to see the photo.
    06-13-2018 07:34 PM
  7. kimberlywoods's Avatar
    I've had the same issue, thank you for all advices!
    06-14-2018 05:34 AM
  8. Ledsteplin's Avatar
    So, that is not true. Google Photos are basically secure, but once you share a photo with somebody (anybody) and they get the URL, there is nothing to prevent them (or anyone else) from seeing the photo from that URL. That URL is not account protected or anything like that. The URL is pseudo-random and unguessable, but once it is out there and shared with anybody, anyone who connects to that URL will see the photo.

    See https://www.alexkras.com/do-not-shar...google-photos/ and https://www.theverge.com/2015/6/23/8...vacy-protected

    So, to stop sharing any photo, go to https://photos.google.com/sharing on a computer browser, and it will list all of the photos that you have shared. You can turn off sharing for any photo that you like. Do that and nobody else will be able to see the photo.
    If you put it that way, then regardless of how you share a photo, anyone can see it if the person you share with shows it to others. But the OP didn't say they had shared a url to anyone. They only asked how to block someone. More info would have helped.
    Lee_Bo likes this.
    06-14-2018 10:01 AM
  9. doogald's Avatar
    If you put it that way, then regardless of how you share a photo, anyone can see it if the person you share with shows it to others. But the OP didn't say they had shared a url to anyone. They only asked how to block someone. More info would have helped.
    Yes, you are right. But I just wanted to correct the part of your post that I quoted. Google Photos has no way to share a photo with only specific users by permission. If OP has shared a photo to more than one person, and wants to stop sharing to only one of them, you cannot turn off the share to that one person. I believe you'd have to stop sharing that photo completely, and then share again (which I believe would create a new, obfuscated URL) to the smaller group of people.
    06-14-2018 10:09 AM
  10. Ledsteplin's Avatar
    Yes, you are right. But I just wanted to correct the part of your post that I quoted. Google Photos has no way to share a photo with only specific users by permission. If OP has shared a photo to more than one person, and wants to stop sharing to only one of them, you cannot turn off the share to that one person. I believe you'd have to stop sharing that photo completely, and then share again (which I believe would create a new, obfuscated URL) to the smaller group of people.
    Ok. I don't really know how sharing works in Google Photos, but I assume it's similar to Box. The OP didn't give us much to go on, as to what he's done and is trying to do. Has he shared a url to someone? Did someone unexpected see his photos? Did someone he shared with give the url to others?
    06-14-2018 11:53 AM

Similar Threads

  1. Adding backups back to restore options.
    By Honey Beagle in forum iOS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-22-2018, 11:10 PM
  2. Super Mario Party: Everything you need to know!
    By iMore.com in forum iMore.com News Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-12-2018, 09:30 PM
  3. AT&T granted approval to acquire Time Warner for $85 billion
    By iMore.com in forum iMore.com News Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-12-2018, 05:00 PM
  4. Performance in iOS 12: Everything you need to know!
    By iMore.com in forum iMore.com News Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-12-2018, 04:20 PM
  5. Siri Suggestions: What's new in iOS 12
    By iMore.com in forum iMore.com News Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-12-2018, 03:40 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD