Need app for Excel, Word and PDFs

JsGrandma

Jan 12, 2011
Visit site
I'm new to theiPad3 and am needing an app that I can use to open, edit and save Office docs that are sent in emails as attachments. I also need to be able to print them out. Which apps are best for this?

Alli

Apr 28, 2009
Visit site
You might have better luck searching the App store. But a quick search here in the forums suggests a few apps including Docs 2 Go.

JsGrandma

Jan 12, 2011
Visit site
Thanks Alli i will do that. I know I can go to Google (kch50428 reply) and do a search but I prefer asking here for more personal hands on reviews of apps.

manutd7

Dec 8, 2011
Visit site
I use Quick Office HD for Excel, Word, and Power point docs. For PDF, you should be able to open this fine on the iPad. To highlight and write notes on PDFs I use Notability. I am not sure about editing PDFs with any of these.
For printing, this all depends on your printer and set-up. I use Printer Pro and/or Epson's own app for printing to my home, wi-fi enabled printer.

JsGrandma

Jan 12, 2011
Visit site
Thank you for the suggestion about Quick Office HD and Notability. I will definitely do some research on them. My printer is old, so I've decided to get a printer with AirPrint capabilities so printing shouldn't be an issue.

JsGrandma

Jan 12, 2011
Visit site
Thanks Karen....I do need to edit and print the docs. I did look at Quick Office and Docs2Go but am seeing that there are some issues with iOS6, Google Docs/Drive and printing.........I think I will wait for some of those bugs to get fixed before buying one of the apps. Thanks again for your suggestions. Very much appreciated.........

zunex

Sep 22, 2012
Visit site
Quick Office. It's kinda expensive, but believe me you'll never regret buying it.

Edit: Oops I forgot, I also use PDF Max for reading ebooks, it's free & of good quality app thogh.

gordol

Apr 13, 2012
Visit site