I'm new to theiPad3 and am needing an app that I can use to open, edit and save Office docs that are sent in emails as attachments. I also need to be able to print them out. Which apps are best for this?
    09-28-2012 12:32 PM
    09-28-2012 01:09 PM
    You might have better luck searching the App store. But a quick search here in the forums suggests a few apps including Docs 2 Go.
    09-28-2012 02:04 PM
    Thanks Alli i will do that. I know I can go to Google (kch50428 reply) and do a search but I prefer asking here for more personal hands on reviews of apps.
    09-28-2012 02:11 PM
    I use Quick Office HD for Excel, Word, and Power point docs. For PDF, you should be able to open this fine on the iPad. To highlight and write notes on PDFs I use Notability. I am not sure about editing PDFs with any of these.
    For printing, this all depends on your printer and set-up. I use Printer Pro and/or Epson's own app for printing to my home, wi-fi enabled printer.
    10-01-2012 08:10 AM
    Thank you for the suggestion about Quick Office HD and Notability. I will definitely do some research on them. My printer is old, so I've decided to get a printer with AirPrint capabilities so printing shouldn't be an issue.
    10-01-2012 06:11 PM
    If/when you just need to open Office documents, iOS has built in viewers for those. I think you can also print from those viewers.

For editing, the 2 main competitors are QuickOffice and Docs2Go. I think one of those was just bought by Google so you might want to check on that and see what their intentions are with it.

You also can use the iWork Apple apps which have an option to save in .doc .xls .ppt format depending on which app you are using. Not sure if iWork supports the newer .docx, etc formats, so if you need the newer format you should check on that.
    10-01-2012 09:59 PM