I just saw that the TomTom car kit is being listed for sale again at $120 US.

And it doesn't include the app.

$120 for the kit, $99 for the app - $240 spent total? And rumors suggest that TomTom will not provide a lot of free updates for the app?

Major fail.

Chris
    10-08-2009 08:54 PM
    I agree.

Speaking of fail...Leanna will not be pleased with your math. 120 + 99 = 240?
    10-09-2009 12:58 PM
    I agree.

This made me LOL
    10-09-2009 01:26 PM
    Ooops.....that's why I am a biologist.
    10-09-2009 01:38 PM
    I must agree.. major fail.

Sadly I had such high hopes for this and planned on getting it if the pricing was decent -- but its obviously not.
    10-09-2009 09:58 PM
    $220 doesn't sound like a lot in my book. As long as it works well. So far the app alone is sketchy. I'm hoping the kit will improve reception.
    10-11-2009 03:05 PM
    $220 doesn't sound like a lot in my book. As long as it works well. So far the app alone is sketchy. I'm hoping the kit will improve reception.
    Not a lot on your book? Wanna buy me a 32g 3GS?! :P

I was really hoping this was going to be something useful, but at that price point I just can't see it being worth it... Especially without many free updates.
    10-11-2009 10:41 PM
    is it true that you can use the car kit with another gps app? i heard this somewhere but not sure? if so, i'm going to get the kit & pair it with motion x "drive"...
    10-14-2009 12:31 AM
    looking great
    10-14-2009 05:05 AM
    TomTom have said that all updates until the end of 2009 will be free. And that they plan to add a lot more features in time (as well as the improvements to the coding = faster).

Im gunna wait until the next update (hopefully coming soon) before i purchase the app or the mount.

the other question was about compatibility with other apps: