Slate Comparison

I am currently a film student (graduating soon) & using a slate is critical when using a multi-cam setup. So I have decided to review the three Slate apps in the iTunes App Store (at least these were the only ones I could find...)

Some of the items I was looking for:
    -Visual feedback for editing
    -Audio correlates with video feedback (if available)
    -Adequate information on slate
    -Ease of use
    Last edited by msbaylor; 04-29-2009 at 04:24 AM.
    04-29-2009 04:12 AM
    Pros:
    -Pratical Use
    -Has MOS option (and other numerous options)
    -Timecode can count in user predefined frame rate.
    -Takes are easily changed (as well as sub-takes)

Cons:
    -UI Not aesthetically pleasing (which is fine for me, but some might not find it so much)
    -No timecode reset
    -Must enter preference screen to change Scene number
    -No Int./Ext notation on slate
    -Quality of take – not really implemented into app.

4/5

LlamaSlate is the Slate app least likely to “look” like a slate. However, in my personal opinion it is the best slating application. The man difference between this application over the other (besides the way it looks) is how the slate is started. When you tap “Start Slate” the app will go through a series of scenes depending on the different options you select. I will describe this below.

The main screen that you see when your open the application allows you to quickly change the take number & letter (e.g. 1a, 1b), to start slate, to End slate & a button to select the quality of the take.

By tapping on the “i” icon, there are several options: Production Name, Director's name, Scene number (must edit in “i” screen,) Take number, Frames/second, Countdown on/off, Date & Time on/off, MOS on/off. You also have the option to select a sound: Silent, Beeper Only, Bloops, Claps, or Tinks. And there is a button to reset the Warning (which show up one time when you first use the app.)