I don't know what to say

TLD1

Retired Moderator
Jul 19, 2008
Visit site
I've tried to switch from iOS to Android on more than a few occasions, and although I've not tried the Pixel, I've tried some nice devices to be sure. All the devices were great overall...but I just never found the Android OS to be as smooth, as intuitive and the UI as polished as iOS. Add to that the ecosystem Apple has built over the years...and it's easy for me to pick a winner.

Nubwy

Apr 23, 2015
Visit site
I have been using a Pixel XL for about 2 months now, and I'm probably just going to switch with a silver iPhone 7 Plus 128GB. Sure the Pixel's battery is bigger, it charges 200% faster than the Plus, the camera is better, it has a headphone jack, and it has more features overall. But every I know is still using their old iPhone 6S's, 6's, 5S's, SE, and even the 5 and 5C. That means almost everyone uses iMessage and FaceTime. Not to mention that apps like Snapchat still lag on Android even though the hardware is more than capable of running it smoothly. The UI also just seems basic for Android version of apps as well. I can suck up the fact that the headphone jack is gone. I'll probably just carry my lightning headphones on my person as well as bluetooth headphones.

TLDR: Objectively, the Pixel is a better phone, but app developers and Apple have made the iPhone so mainstream that features such as iMessage, FaceTime, the regard for a simple yet beautiful UI, not to mention apps actually have notification alerts on the app logos themselves. Plus, the hype of having a Pixel just died after two months. Google is a really great company, but I've grown too accustomed to iOS and Apple's integration.

On what basis are you saying that the Pixel is a better phone? It has more memory and a better screen but spec for spec the iPhone is either equal to or better. Better processor, better camera (colors on the pixel are way off) etc;