My new iPhone and Google. Opinions needed.

rachmk2005

Nov 20, 2014
Visit site
Hello all,

I finally took the plunge and decided to go with an iPhone 6 (despite my husband's love for Android). I am new to iPhone and want to make sure I do everything right, so I wanted to get your expert opinions on some things.

I have always used Gmail and Google services on my other phones. But when I set up my new iphone my hubs kept talking about how I needed to use "outlook.com" because of how the iPhone checks email, something about it being faster or more reliable or something.

So my question is, if I set up my new iPhone as a "Google" phone, with Gmail and Google Search (Google Now instead of Siri I guess?), Chrome, etc...am I missing out on a "true" Apple/iPhone experience? I don't want to limit my phone by using Google stuff on a device that will be much more enjoyable to use with other services. I am willing to make the switch in my email and other apps, but I just am not sure what to do.

Any advice? Thank you all!!

kataran

Ambassador
Mar 11, 2013
Visit site
Welcome to iMore rachmk2005

Google apps actually run really well on an iPhone and you don't need to choose between the two. I use about 5 Google apps daily. Your only problem is Email. In order to use Gmail you need to download the app

I would suggest using Siri as its intergraded and will give you a better overall experience

mulasien

Feb 28, 2013
Visit site

Google apps actually run really well on an iPhone and you don't need to choose between the two. I use about 5 Google apps daily. Your only problem is Email. In order to use Gmail you need to download the app

I would suggest using Siri as its intergraded and will give you a better overall experience

You can use Gmail on the stock mail app, it just doesn't instantly push email. It can only fetch every 15 minutes.