Lightning cable frayed

anon(4698833)

Banned
Sep 7, 2010
Visit site
But have you used your phone a lot while it's charging? If so, then I don't know either. I just know both my Apple cables and my 10' monoprice cable have done the same way.

Sent from my ancient but trustworthy iPhone 5. ☮

When I was a cop, my phone was almost ALWAYS connected and charging, 8-12 hours, 4 days a week...now, if I'm in the car, it is charging, if I'm at home, it's usually loose (but charges over night on my night stand).

Like I said man, no offense, but that picture above did not come from normal usage.

Ledsteplin

Ambassador
Oct 2, 2013
Visit site
When I was a cop, my phone was almost ALWAYS connected and charging, 8-12 hours, 4 days a week...now, if I'm in the car, it is charging, if I'm at home, it's usually loose (but charges over night on my night stand).

Like I said man, no offense, but that picture above did not come from normal usage.

I'm retired and at home most of the time. I sit in my easy chair to use my phone. It's where I charge it. I have it plugged in beside my chair. I never carry the cable anywhere unless my Wife is in the hospital. It's from using my phone while charging. I do nothing else that could do that. It gets bent, pulled and twisted around. It takes several months to get that way. Maybe I'm just doing it all wrong. If I had an iP 6 or 6 Plus, I wouldn't need to charge it so much. I'm on my phone at least 15 hours a day and get about 4? sleep each night. IDK?

anon(4698833)

Banned
Sep 7, 2010
Visit site
I don't know man...but that wire you pictured above looks like it's been PULLED apart. Crazy that you are very inactive with your device...I'd imagine, based on your description, that your cords would all look pristine and unused.

Wotchered

Oct 29, 2013
Visit site