HI all,

I have been doing some looking around, I want to make sure I have not missed anything. I have an old iPhone 5 that my daughter wants to start using, she has an iPhone 4s. We are on AT&T. I know all about doing a backup to iTunes first, then restoring from that. Do I have to do anything with AT&T to get her account converted to the new iPhone, or is that covered through it asking for her AT&T account info in the setup? Or do I have to call AT&T and tell them about the new phone for her (don't ant to change her upgrade eligibility for the future). Then just wipe the old phone when we are convinced the new iPhone has everything on it? Anything else I need to know? Thanks!
    07-19-2014 08:22 PM
    You will have to go to AT&T to get a new sim, since the sim sizes for those 2 devices are different.
    07-19-2014 08:25 PM
    Thanks, what does that involve, is there a charge for that, what should I expect? I have never done that before.
    nikkisharif likes this.
    07-19-2014 09:30 PM
    Thanks, what does that involve, is there a charge for that, what should I expect? I have never done that before.
    It shouldn't cost you anything because you are basically changing devices on the same wireless network/account.
    nikkisharif likes this.
    07-19-2014 09:36 PM
    Just tell them you want to do a device swap on her line and they should take of you. It shouldn't cost anything.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
    nikkisharif likes this.
    07-19-2014 11:25 PM
    Thank you for all the help. Just to make sure I understand how this works - the iPhone 5 she will move to, is the one I upgraded FROM when I went to a 5s. Does this iPhone 5 have a SIM in it already, and it's just a matter of getting her carrier info etc. transferred to it by AT&T? As opposed to, if the iPhone 5 and iPhone 4s supported the same SIM, I could just pop the SIM out of one and into the other and she would be ready to go. Do I understand it correctly?
    07-20-2014 08:06 AM