Is there a way to change the signal from dots to dBm permanently in iOS 7? I have figured out how to view it temporarily in field test mode, but the home button trick to make permanent doesn't seem to work? I'm new to iOS, this 5s being my first apple device. I have searched the forum with no results. Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    11-09-2013 08:06 AM
    The 'home button trick' took several tries to get it to stay when I tried it on my iPhone5...
    11-09-2013 08:21 AM
    Care to share the "home button trick"?
    11-09-2013 09:51 AM
    http://forums.imore.com/iphone-5s/26...ml#post2092268

Pay special attention to the NOTE in Step 4. That seems to do the trick, at least for me it did.
    11-09-2013 10:01 AM
    Care to share the "home button trick"?
    I've lost track of the post from which this came so I can't give proper credit, but here's the text:

iPhone Signal Strength

Step 1: Dial *3001#12345#* on your iPhone then press Call.

Step 2: You'll now enter Field Test mode. You'll notice a signal strength indicator on the upper left hand corner of your screen. You can toggle between signal strength bars and a number by simply taping on it. At this point, press the home button to exit the app or if you would like the feature to be permanent, continue on. Don't worry, the process is completely reversible.

Step 3: Hold down on the Power button until you see the ‘slide to power off' bar. Do not power off the device.

Step 4: Press down on the Home button until the app closes and you return to your home screen.

That's it. Even when restarting the iPhone, the signal strength can be toggled between bars and numbers. The closer your number is to zero, the stronger your signal is.
    The lower your number, the stronger your signal—but don't include the - sign when evaluating (so, if the signal says -60, that's better than -90).

To return to the default bars permanently, follow these steps:

Step 2: Press on your Home Button once.