Has the Gold iPhone 5S become more of a fashion statement?

Eileen89

Apr 27, 2011
Visit site
I don't think the gold is looked at as a fashion statement at all. It's only popular because of it's color and it's in short supply.

Think of it this way, if a thief had to choose between stealing a white, black or gold iPhone (all things being equal), what do you think he's steal?

Let's be honest, probably the gold. It has nothing to do with fashion, they're just high in demand right now. Pretty simple.
Couldn't agree with you more here. Most people I know cover their iPhones up as I do with a case.... Hey! Maybe it's the case that people are using that's the real fashion statement, lol. :rotfl:

Guacho

Jun 20, 2009
Visit site
it's a popular color, it's new...many people want the gold one so others can tell it's the new device ( silly but whatever.. )...

Not Quite Right

Trusted Member
May 11, 2013
Visit site
I work in the home improvement industry, everybody wants stainless steel appliances in their house, and Apple knows this thats why they make all their computers in brushed aluminum ... NO that makes no difference in why people buy Apple computers. It might not hurt, but it's not the main reason. For the record I always buy black because it's classic and goes with all my outfits. People are buying Gold iPhones because it's different and instantly identifies them to others as having the latest & greatest iPhone ... it's that simple.

iEd

Banned
Jun 13, 2012
Visit site
If the aesthetic qualities of a gold iPhone make it popular that is a aspect of fashion. Aesthetics are a factor in fashion. You can have two products of the same form and based on color one may be more "Fashionable"

Like Not Quite Right said. Macs are made to look good with the brushed aluminum. They look good sitting on your desk doing nothing that's a factor in home decor which is like fashion for the home. With the beige computer boxes of old fashion or design wasn't a consideration.