First Time iPhone Buyer: Is the 5c right for my needs?

Armada

Sep 10, 2013
Visit site
Hello all, I'm new to iMore and I'm probably going to be new to the iPhone next month. Now, this thread isn't going to ask "is the iPhone 5c worth buying?" or "is the iPhone 5c good?" At least not quite that simply. You see, I just need a phone that fills my needs. What are those needs? Fairly simple: timely security updates, no carrier bloatware, "reasonable" battery life, smooth for at least 1.5 years, and within my budget at the time of purchase. I know the iPhone probably meets the first two, as well as the fourth.

"Reasonable" battery life for me is basically "anything better than the Galaxy Nexus." On the bus commute to work I can easily suck my battery down over 70% with only web browsing. I'd like something along 4 or 5 hours of active usage. I can barely get over 1 on my Nexus, so even 3 would make me happy. My usage is pretty simple I think. 90% of the time I'm either browsing the web, texting, using Google Hangouts, or on Facebook. I want enough to do these things and not see any stutter or lag for at least a year and a half. Besides that I don't do too much else. I run Soundhound on occasion, listen to music, maybe watch a YouTube video every once and a while. Camera doesn't really matter to me. If it works fast and doesn't look like I could draw a better picture, it'll fly. As for games I don't play them practically ever, and even then it's something simple like Path Pix.