Will the iPhone 5 kick it in 2014?

mrcanham

Nov 7, 2014
Visit site
iPhone 5 in 2014

So I've been using android since 2012 and my friend who uses iOS accused me of fanboy-ism (he has a point, he moved from android so he's not being biased) said until I've tried Apple, I cannot "dislike" them, so I've decided to "Go Mac"

Although I am not planning to spend a whole lot of money and I noticed, unlocked iPhone 5's go for around $300 on eBay which is a sweet spot for me because, it's not so expensive that I would want to cry should I not like it and yet it's not so cheap that I would not feel a "responsibility" to get my money's worth out of it.

And with android a phone released in 2012 is day and night away from one released in 2014, thus my question, will the iPhone 5 still kick it today, especially for a person new to iOS?

Highrisedrifter

Sep 19, 2012
Visit site
Re: iPhone 5 in 2014

Hi there and welcome to iMore.,

The 5 is still a very capable phone and will still cope with pretty much everything today. I had a 5 at the start of the year and it worked perfectly.

Sure, it won't be the 'latest and greatest' but it will still be right up there.

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site

Yes, the iPhone 5 is still a great device, and mine is running iOS 8.1 without a problem.

Aceroller

Nov 7, 2014
Visit site

I am a long time Android user and my wife has always been an iPhone user. Well, she just upgraded from a 5 to a 6, and I popped my SIM card in a few weeks ago, just to play around, and I fell in love with the iPhone 5 and iOS. Everything is just smooth and is so well thought out. I just sold my HTC One and Moto X. The 5 runs great!!

gordol

Apr 13, 2012
Visit site

Yes, the iPhone 5 is still a very capable device. Just, if possible, don't get the 16GB version or you'll be hurting to storage space if you keep a lot of media on the phone.

kazza295

Sep 23, 2013
Visit site