Need help !! I accidently bought a missing iphone 5

Ansell Halim

Jan 3, 2014
Visit site
Hi guys, i'm new here.. I just want to ask you guys about what i should do now, or what can i do now, given my conditions as follows:

I just bought an used iphone 5 (ios 7)from some internet forum in my country, apparently, the phone was a missing iphone. And i was too late to recognize it ( after i got home and use my wifi), there was a message from the owner regarding the information of his address and phone number, i tried to contact him, and he already doesn't want his cellphone back (1 month old lost). The seller(maybe the thief) also nowhere to be found and cannot be contacted anymore.

I'm very new to apple products and doesn't know anything about activation locks, iclouds, find my iphones and such, so i just bought the cellphone without adequate knowledge. I know there was fault at my hand also because i was careless.

So i want to ask you guys, is there any way that i could claim the phone to Apple? Will my reason acceptable? Or do anyone knows how to deal with this situation? Because i cannot use it, and my money already gone :(

Thank you so much guys

rdiddy_25

Sep 20, 2009
Visit site
Welcome to iMore and there's Nothing you can do if the owner reported it stolen/lost. U bought a brick. Apple won't do anything for you either. Sorry

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
Hi guys, i'm new here.. I just want to ask you guys about what i should do now, or what can i do now, given my conditions as follows:
Okay, and welcome to iMore.

I just bought an used iphone 5 (ios 7)from some internet forum in my country, apparently, the phone was a missing iphone. And i was too late to recognize it ( after i got home and use my wifi), there was a message from the owner regarding the information of his address and phone number, i tried to contact him, and he already doesn't want his cellphone back (1 month old lost).