Upgrading to the 5

ForgWorm

Nov 25, 2012
Visit site
Hey guys! I've been using my 4S for 6 months now.. And it was my first iPhone. Recently, my report card was really good and my parents are letting me to get the iPhone 5. I know there's not so much difference/improvements (coming from the 4S perspective). But should I get it? Or wait for the 5S? And I've done a few research showing that the iPhone 5 have some problems software wise and hardware wise. In need of your opinions!

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
The question is this: are you satisfied with your current device? If you are, have your parents treat you to something else that you may be interested in and I don't mean another smartphone. On the other hand, if you're unhappy with your 4S and the iPhone 5 is screaming your name or you feel it will better suit your needs then go for it.

anon(4698833)

Banned
Sep 7, 2010
Visit site
The 5 is totally worth the upgrade from the 4S if the following things matter to you...

- LTE data speeds (there's seriously NO comparison between 4G and LTE, like a tricycle vs. a space shuttle in terms of speed)
- Larger screen (this was hit or miss for me initially, but i do like the slightly stretched setup, using the old smaller screen is weird to me now)
- Faster processor...there are times where this is plainly obvious (in certain games especially) and times where it feels the same.
- Better camera...the iPhone 5 has a better camera (front and back), period. It's more stable on videos, has better color balance on pictures and takes faster photos.
- Smaller and lighter. It is significantly lighter than any of the other phones on the market, including the 4S...not to mention being a lot skinnier. The weight is perfect to me.

...all in all, i love the design and form of the iPhone 5, and LTE is the icing on the cake...those two things alone make the iPhone 5 well worth the upgrade.