Jan 29, 2011
Visit site
I have had the 4, 4S, and now the 5

It seems that the glass screen scratches easier on the 4S
and the 5.

I had a 4 for over a year and beat the crap out the phone,
I'm a carpenter and kept the phone in my tool belt. I never had a single
scratch on the 4.

On my 4S and 5 I scratched the screen within a week.

I have scratches all over my 5 and I baby it.

I know apple used helicopter windshield glass on the 4 but I think they switched glass on the newer phones.

Does anyone have any insight on this. :confused:

Thanks

Roo Zilla

Dec 17, 2008
Visit site
It is widely known that Corning provides Gorilla Glass to Apple for it's touchscreens. The glass on the iPhone 4 and the iPhone 4S should be the same. The iPhone 5 probably uses Gorilla Glass 2, but according to Corning, the newer version is just as scratch resistant.

evorc

Oct 15, 2010
Visit site
The iphone 5 uses a gorilla glass 2 which is better than gorilla glass 1 used on older devices. So i doubt it scratches more. The scratches you are seeing are most likely hairline scratches on the oleophobic coating of the screen. Which are mostly noticeable under bright lights. The glass is most likely not scratch if it is you will see the scratch when the screen is on. I noticed the 5 coating scratches much easier. I have half an inch scratch within a day and I baby my phone. On the 4s, I used it all year with no screen protector and barely scratch the oleophobic coating. Because of this I order sgp ultra clear screen protector knowing how easy the coating scratches on the 5.

Who has hairline scratches already?

cpc12

Jan 29, 2011
Visit site
that is annoying, why should it scratch easier...

Screen covers are even more annoying..

my 4 was bomb proof, Id take that anyday over a smudge resistant/ scratch easy coating....

evorc

Oct 15, 2010
Visit site
that is annoying, why should it scratch easier...

Screen covers are even more annoying..