I have had the 4, 4S, and now the 5

It seems that the glass screen scratches easier on the 4S
    and the 5.

I had a 4 for over a year and beat the crap out the phone,
    I'm a carpenter and kept the phone in my tool belt. I never had a single
    scratch on the 4.

On my 4S and 5 I scratched the screen within a week.

I have scratches all over my 5 and I baby it.

I know apple used helicopter windshield glass on the 4 but I think they switched glass on the newer phones.

Does anyone have any insight on this.

Thanks
    KNIGHTRIDER likes this.
    10-24-2012 06:15 PM
    It is widely known that Corning provides Gorilla Glass to Apple for it's touchscreens. The glass on the iPhone 4 and the iPhone 4S should be the same. The iPhone 5 probably uses Gorilla Glass 2, but according to Corning, the newer version is just as scratch resistant.
    10-24-2012 09:44 PM
    I know apple used helicopter windshield glass on the 4 but I think they switched glass on the newer phones.
    Hope not. Many are plexiglass. (I'm an aircraft mechanic.)
    10-25-2012 01:16 PM
    The iphone 5 uses a gorilla glass 2 which is better than gorilla glass 1 used on older devices. So i doubt it scratches more. The scratches you are seeing are most likely hairline scratches on the oleophobic coating of the screen. Which are mostly noticeable under bright lights. The glass is most likely not scratch if it is you will see the scratch when the screen is on. I noticed the 5 coating scratches much easier. I have half an inch scratch within a day and I baby my phone. On the 4s, I used it all year with no screen protector and barely scratch the oleophobic coating. Because of this I order sgp ultra clear screen protector knowing how easy the coating scratches on the 5.

Who has hairline scratches already?
    10-25-2012 02:08 PM
    that is annoying, why should it scratch easier...

Screen covers are even more annoying..