Confused about sim card for new phone

jimmysuggs

Nov 15, 2009
Visit site
So I got my 4S and I'm trying to get the actual phone part working. I figured I'd just remove the sim card from my 3GS and put it into the 4S, but now I see that the sim card from the 3GS doesn't fit in the 4S. So this leaves me with the question of how I get my existing number onto the 4S? Until i can do that, I can't make calls. Is there some way to tell the 4S that I'm already a customer? Or do I need to take the phone (and the old phone) into the apple store? Or something else? I'm really new at this and a little confused.

Help?

noaim

Jul 8, 2010
Visit site
So I got my 4S and I'm trying to get the actual phone part working. I figured I'd just remove the sim card from my 3GS and put it into the 4S, but now I see that the sim card from the 3GS doesn't fit in the 4S. So this leaves me with the question of how I get my existing number onto the 4S? Until i can do that, I can't make calls. Is there some way to tell the 4S that I'm already a customer? Or do I need to take the phone (and the old phone) into the apple store? Or something else? I'm really new at this and a little confused.

Help?

you can activate the new phone by plugging into itunes or calling your carrier..

jimmysuggs

Nov 15, 2009
Visit site
Well that's another question, because I thought I did activate my phone. But I guess if I had, I'd be able to actually use my phone as a phone? I went through the process that popped up when I first started the phone up but I guess I did something wrong. Itunes doesn't seem to offer a method of activating the phone. I keep reading online that I'm supposed to "follow the instructions itunes," but I can't see any instructions. Nothing pops up when I plug my phone in. Can anyone tell me how I'd go about activating my phone in itunes? Or just the phone itself?

noaim

Jul 8, 2010
Visit site