iPhone newbie here seeking basic iPhone 4S/5 information

Netherscourge

Sep 29, 2011
Visit site
Hey everyone,

I plan on buying my first ever smartphone in the very near future - mostly likely whatever new iPhone is announced tomorrow.

If they announce a iPhone 4S or an iPhone 5 tomorrow, and it's clearly superior to the iPhone 4, I'm going to get one.

Here's what I don't know though.

1. How do I get one? Meaning, will they be sold directly through the carriers like AT&T and Verizon? Or do I have to buy it off an Apple website, and then get redirected to the carrier sites? (Not planning on walking into a store to buy one - was hoping to just do everything online and having it shipped to me)

2. I'm assuming these phones will be discounted if you get the locked ones via a carrier, along with 2-year calling/data plan contracts. Are we talking around $250? Or are we talking over $300 with a 2-year contract tacked on? I have no idea what the iPhone 4 debuted at, but I'm assuming that the iPhone 4S or iPhone 5 will be in the same ballpark, with the contracts included.

3. Or are these things sold unlocked at full price and it's up to us to find a carrier?

(Sorry if this sounds newbish. The only cell phone I've ever owned has been a basic, 3-year old Nokia flip-phone via AT&T Go Phone plan. Obviously, getting an iPhone 4S/5 will be a HUGE upgrade for me.)

Thanks.

paul-c

Sep 21, 2011
Visit site