1. bikedogrun's Avatar
    Getting a 5.0.1 jailbroken (Redsnow untethered) IP4 later today (Yeah!)

    I have a backup I made on a non-jailbroken 5.0.1 (different) IP4. Can I just do a restore of all my apps etc using the non-jailbreak backup onto the IP4 that is newly jailbroken ? ... or will that totally mess-up the jailbroken IP4???

    /bd
    01-10-2012 11:42 AM
  2. RemmyZero's Avatar
    if all you're doing is restoring a backup of your apps and settings, etc. then you can do whatever you like. if you plug in your phone and click "restore" at the main screen, however, it will basically wipe your phone.

    if you're intention is to restore from a backup of you're old phone just plug the phone in and when it appears in the left side on iTunes just right-click it and choose "restore from backup".

    this more belongs in the jailbreak forum, but out of curiosity why are you getting a jailbroken phone and not just jailbreaking the one you had? or did you lose/break it previously? just curious....
    bikedogrun likes this.
    01-10-2012 02:05 PM
  3. Massie's Avatar
    Also, I'm not sure if you know the seller, but I would NEVER buy a used phoneespecially a jb'ed onewithout restoring it as new before putting my own info on it. Just restore it to 5.0.1, jb it again, and THEN put your info on it.
    01-10-2012 02:10 PM
  4. bikedogrun's Avatar
    this more belongs in the jailbreak forum, but out of curiosity why are you getting a jailbroken phone and not just jailbreaking the one you had? or did you lose/break it previously? just curious....
    Yup... previous was breaking down (both Mute & Vol-Up non-functional).

    Would have jailbroken myself but happened to find a good one on eBay (I hope) that was already jailbroken with the new, untethered Redsnow on 5.0.1

    /BD
    01-10-2012 02:14 PM
  5. Ipheuria's Avatar
    Jailbreak(JB) is the OS, backup has settings and apps nothing to do with the OS so restoring the backup will do nothing to the phone. When you connect the phone and start up iTunes you wont need to choose restore from backup it will notice it's not an iPhone it previously synced with and should ask you if you want to restore from backup or start fresh. Now if the iPhone is unlocked I understand keeping the JB but like Massie said, maybe it's just the OCD in me, I would rather wipe the phone JB it and then restore from your backup.
    01-10-2012 04:41 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD