I'll be traveling there in a few weeks. I've been reading others' tips, but I wanted to ask for advice so that I don't get any unexpected charges. I typically leave the phone home when I travel internationally, so this is my first time trying to bring it.

I plan to turn off international data roaming and fetch; should this completely eliminate any data charges I might incur? I'll only use internet services when I am connected to wifi.

It seems like I can let my phone connect to networks in the UK and I will only be charged if I answer a call. I plan to use tango, skype, etc. over wifi to call the family at night, but leave the cellular on for emergencies. The part I don't understand is voicemail. AT&T seems to indicate that you are charged for incoming voicemail even if you do not check it, and even if the person hangs up and doesn't leave a message. Would I be safer just keeping the phone in airplane mode and using wifi exclusively?

If I do leave cellular, it seems that incoming texts count against my normal plan, but outgoing are $.50. Has anyone tried this abroad? I assume I can still use iMessage with wifi only, though?

Thanks for any tips you may have picked up while traveling with your iPhone!
    12-17-2011 03:38 PM
    Your best bet to avoid charges is to put your phone in airplane mode when you leave the US, and leave it that way until you return. Turn on WiFi for when you find a WiFi hotspot, and use that for iMessage and Skype calls.

Having traveled extensively for many years, you want to ask yourself one important question - if someone calls you with an emergency, will you drop everything to get back on a plane and go home? If not, don't worry about staying in touch via phone and enjoy the trip. Most "emergencies" involve things you would have no control over even if you did rush home.
    12-17-2011 06:43 PM