Vibration for SMS Alerts

reflexo

Nov 23, 2011
Visit site
I know this has been discussed before, but I would like to bring this up again.

I use my cell phone as a pager. As I am a physician, it is crucial that I don't miss pages. I keep my phone on silent mode at all times. The extremely short vibration is just not adequate for a text alert. What I would need is a longer alert coupled with reminder alerts every minute or so to assure that I get the page. With my Palm Pre+ I have needed to use patches to get this done. Android has an app called Smart Vibrator which apparently can accomplish these tasks.

Is there any way to make this so for the iPhone? I would love to make it my primary work phone. Thanks in advance

anon(157335)

Aug 20, 2011
Visit site
Under Settings / Notifications / Messages there is an option to repeat an SMS notification every two minutes up to 10 times, so that will help. Unfortunately there is no way to change the vibration duration with the standard iOS installed; jail breaking may provide more options.

Massie

Feb 9, 2010
Visit site
Actually, iOS 5 provides a lot of options for vibration: go to Settings/ Sounds/Vibrations and you can choose from a variety of patterns OR create your own.

E_Brown

Feb 10, 2011
Visit site
Actually, iOS 5 provides a lot of options for vibration: go to Settings/ Sounds/Vibrations and you can choose from a variety of patterns OR create your own.

yeah, you can pick a really long vibration, bunch of quick vibrations, make your own. Now with iOS5, you're able to change the vibration.

reflexo

Nov 23, 2011
Visit site
yeah, you can pick a really long vibration, bunch of quick vibrations, make your own. Now with iOS5, you're able to change the vibration.