Buying Used Unlocked IPhone 4 and Connecting to T-Mobile

Stromie

Oct 13, 2011
Visit site
Hello guys, I am an IPhone noob that's just overwhelmed with info on the internet, and would appreciate if someone could summarize it in plain terms.

The intent is to get a used IPhone 4 GSM (AT&T) off of craigslist, get it unlocked, and use on
T-Mobile's network. Several questions:

1) Anything to look out for when buying a used phone? Certain oper system and firmware versions that will not work for my purpose?

2) Automatic updates, ITunes, and the chance of overwriting the unlock. I have no idea how ITunes work and the purpose, and do not know whether IPhone has an option to prevent automatic updates.

3) After such non-factory unlocked device is connected to T-Mobile, how does the user get access to apps, music, and stuff from the internet AND the home PC? Also, how does one transfer taken pictures and videos from IPhone to home PC?

4) Will there be any issues running Skype on Iphone 4 on T-Mobile's slower EDGE network?

Thank you very much for your help, and look fwd to hopefully join the owners club soon.

anon(5335877)

Jan 17, 2011
Visit site
1) If you're planning to jailbreak and use ultrasn0w, 1.59.00 is the only unlockable baseband right now. It shows up in the "About" in settings under "Modem Firmware" I think. Whenever you update, you have to preserve that baseband.

2) AFAIK, iTunes asks you about updating, but for the over the air updates, I have no idea if it's automatic. Maybe someone more knowledgeable can comment on that.

3) I don't what you're asking in the first part. Second, I usually use Windows Explorer to browse the iPhone's files (as if it were a camera or a USB drive) and just copy and paste from iPhone to computer.

4) Definitely no video calling, as for voice only, I've never tried it.

Stromie

Oct 13, 2011
Visit site
Thanks, Red Chirp.