Hey, I bought an iPhone off ebay and the person selling it said it has a clean ESN(I haven't gotten the phone yet, I should be getting it in a few days). What happens if I activate the iPhone on my verizon account and a month later the person who sold it to me calls up verizon and reports it stolen. Will it become useless and can it be flagged as a bad ESN? In other words can the original owner of the phone report it stolen even if it isn't activated on their account? Sorry if I posted this in the wrong section, I've never used this forum before.
    04-12-2011 05:20 PM
    I don't think so but either way can be easily refuted with all of the ebay stuff. Make sure you save your emails both between you and the seller and from ebay themselves. Conversely if it does have a bad esn to start, you can go through ebay to get your money back as well.
    OrbitD likes this.
    04-12-2011 05:51 PM
    Thanks! Made me feel a lot better.
    04-12-2011 06:15 PM
    I bought my iphone 4 off craigslist and I too was worried about the whole ESN/stolen possibilities. Bottom line is if its a clean ESN you are good to go. If it was stolen the owner would have contacted Verizon because their account is tied to that phone, and so the phone would be deactivated with the corresponding ESN deemed bad.

Also, Verizon cannot just halt your service with the iphone if something arises later because verizon doesn't know if the item was sold say on CL or ebay.
    OrbitD likes this.
    04-13-2011 02:23 AM
    Why would they just sell you a phone and then report it stolen? It's not like they would get the phone back.
    04-13-2011 03:50 AM
    I bought my iphone 4 off craigslist and I too was worried about the whole ESN/stolen possibilities. Bottom line is if its a clean ESN you are good to go. If it was stolen the owner would have contacted Verizon because their account is tied to that phone, and so the phone would be deactivated with the corresponding ESN deemed bad.