WIFI Question

moomps

Feb 17, 2011
Visit site
I am fairly new to the IPhone and have a question. I have a wifi setup at home so I leave my phone set to WIFI on when I'm there. My question is - do most people leave WIFI on all the time at let the phone find what ever session it can? Do you let it just connect without asking? Is this the best way to use available WIFI connections? Thanks for your input

ghostface147

Oct 1, 2009
Visit site
I leave mine all the time, but disable the option to ask to join networks. If I need to go somewhere that my job blocks, then I turn it off.

bamf-hacker

Apple Watch and AirPod Champion, Ambassador
Champion
Nov 2, 2009
Visit site
I leave mine on, for the most, as well. I have my work, home and mobile hotspots saved and it will connect to those automatically. I do however turn off WiFi if I am not going to be using any of those networks for extended periods to save on battery power.

Alli

Apr 28, 2009
Visit site
I leave it on all the time. I still usually have 50% or more battery left when I get home at the end of the day, despite being asked if I want to join the network all day long at school - where I won't put my iPhone on the network cause they block too many websites!

Darth-gamer

Jan 26, 2011
Visit site
I leave it on all the time. I still usually have 50% or more battery left when I get home at the end of the day, despite being asked if I want to join the network all day long at school - where I won't put my iPhone on the network cause they block too many websites!

Why not turn off "ask to join networks"?

As for me, wifi is on all the time, ask to join networks is off. That way I get wifi speed at home, leave and automatically switch to 3G and automatically switch back when I am in range of my home again. :D

miro

Feb 7, 2011
Visit site