Hey Look What I Learned... An Ask/Share Thread

dot#IM

Feb 8, 2011
Visit site
Hello All,
First post, but spent time lurking through all the pre order, shipment and arrival excitement...

I love my new iphone, but would love to hear and share things about it that might get overlooked or are just assumed to be known about the device. I am coming from a BB like many of us here. I hope others might benefit from a thread like this... :D

So my first question is, my tour was totally customizable where sounds are concerned. My phone rang/had text alerts for about 5 contacts... for anyone/everything else, the phone was silent most of the time (I'm a teacher). Is the iphone capable of this type customization?

Happy First Official Day with Your iPhone and happy sharing!

-dot

Last edited:

jdragione

Feb 3, 2011
Visit site
You can have custom tones for sms / phone contacts that you set up through the address book but its my understanding you can only save a 30 second clip from any song in your itunes to be a ringtone and there is no way to make a custom text or email tone.

briankeith513

Feb 6, 2011
Visit site
You can have custom tones for sms / phone contacts that you set up through the address book but its my understanding you can only save a 30 second clip from any song in your itunes to be a ringtone and there is no way to make a custom text or email tone.

Ok, so you can set up custom tones for individual sms and phone contacts? Or just custom tones for sms messages in general?

Last edited:

Alli

Apr 28, 2009
Visit site
The one area the iPhone still falls down in, is sms tones. They are limited, and without jailbreaking there is no way to do any customization.

swann3030

Feb 3, 2011
Visit site
Does anyone know of a good profile app. One that automatically set the phone to vibrate during specific times, say 7-3:30 while at work, and puts it on silent during times in the middle of the night?

sting7k

Dec 15, 2008
Visit site