1. slisrapper's Avatar
    Hello,

    I just applied to a beta of an app on the ipod touch 4G, and on my ipod it when to install it (in the general settings) then it said that "some settings might be changed"

    Now I have a "Profile" tab in the general settings. Can someone fill me in on the information about this "Profile" tab and what it does.

    Thanks!
    01-13-2011 09:56 AM
  2. Alli's Avatar
    When you beta test an iOS app, you had to give your UID to the developer so he could add your profile to his account. You then get a profile, which is a file allowing his beta to run on your device. After a certain date, the profile will expire and you can delete it, or the beta will end and you will have the "real" version, so you can delete the profile.
    01-13-2011 10:12 AM
  3. slisrapper's Avatar
    Oh I see, so once getting the "real" version I would be getting it for free then.

    Thanks for the reply!
    01-13-2011 10:19 AM
  4. Alli's Avatar
    No, not at all. Not unless the developer gives you an iTunes promo code for the app. Beta testing doesn't guarantee a free version of the final product, and the beta version will expire.
    01-13-2011 12:54 PM
  5. slisrapper's Avatar
    Oh I see, so yes it depends on the developer.

    Thanks
    01-14-2011 11:58 AM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD