1. marvi0's Avatar
    Hello everyone i really need advice. I want to sell my jailbroken and unlocked iPhone 3gs, but i don't want to loose the jailbreak and unlock, as that is what the buyer wants. Now my question is , if i was to wipe the phone under settings, to bring the iPhone back to factory settings, does it mean it would have to be reconected again, t iTunes, in order for it to be used again?. If so would i be able, to refuse to update to the new software, and keep it as it is? Please help. Or is their any option of wiping without having to go back to iTunes.
    12-06-2010 06:33 AM
  2. dpscott's Avatar
    erase all content and settings will be fine but why not send him details/a link to how to unlock and jailbreak for himself??
    12-06-2010 06:43 AM
  3. marvi0's Avatar
    Thanks for your reply, but it stil doesn't answer if all loose my jailbreak, or not by so doing?
    12-06-2010 10:49 AM
  4. SeanHRCC's Avatar
    If you wipe your iPhone (restore), yes...you lose your jailbreak. If you're talking about the "Reset" function under general settings, that isn't wiping the phone at all, it's just adjusting personal settings back to default.

    To wipe your info completely clean from the iPhone, you must restore, and upon restoring, you lose your JB.
    12-06-2010 10:53 AM
  5. dpscott's Avatar
    sorry, reading again I realise that I wasn't clear.

    If you choose 'Erase and Delete All Settings' from Settings > General > Reset then all of your content (music, mail, apps, contact ect) will be deleted but the Jailbreak (Cydia) will remain.

    If you restore on iTunes then you will need to Re-jailbreak
    12-06-2010 11:35 AM
  6. SeanHRCC's Avatar
    Echo...echo...echo...
    12-06-2010 12:35 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD