1. moped's Avatar
    Somewhat of a noob, be gentle (please use lube on the noob).

    I bought a 3GS from a friend. He did not restore the phone before he gave it to me. I used jailbreakme.com to JB/unlock, but I didn't restore before the JB/unlock. So, I can't sync to get videos/songs to my comp and now I want to.

    It was upgraded to 4.0.1 before the JB/unlock and still has 4.0.1.

    So, I want to be able to sync to get tunes, photos, videos on the phone. If I let iTunes erase everything, will I loose my JB/Unlock or the upgrade to 4.0.1?

    Also, I don't want to brick it.

    thanks in advance!
    09-20-2010 04:12 PM
  2. liquidzoo's Avatar
    If you let iTunes restore it (using the Restore as New option), you WILL lose your Jailbreak/Unlock and it will be updated to iOS 4.1.

    Do you need the Unlock? Do you need the Jailbreak? If not, then go ahead and do this. You should be able to sync through iTunes, no problem. I could when I had my 3GS Jailbroken.

    If you need the unlock, then search around on how to restore to a previous iOS and hope that your friend saved the shsh through Cydia.
    09-20-2010 04:18 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD