Thinking about switching from Android and an Incredible -- have some questions

durangojim#AC

Apr 14, 2010
Visit site
First of all, let me say I have nothing against either OS. Android has worked great for me and Verizon has been very good as well. Also this is all predicated on the assumption that the reception issues will be fixed or are not really a problem to begin with. I'm a physician and need to be able to rely on my phone 24/7.
That being said, I saw the iphone 4 yesterday and was blown away by the screen. I had the original Droid which I bought on day 1 last year and felt similarly at that time, I then changed to the Incredible because it was quicker but IMO the screen wasn't as good because of the slightly lower res and the fact that it is AMOLED with the pentile format. I have better than 20/20 vision and can see the pixels on the screen which bothers me.

Anyway my biggest uses of the phone are these in order of decending importance:
1. Phone -- I use it as a phone. I like on Android I can add shortcuts to directly call or message someone right on the homescreens, is there something similar on iOS4?
2. Web browsing -- flash is nice but not necessary
3. Google Calendar -- can I update Google Calendar on the iphone and have it update the web site and vice versa?
4. GMAIL/Mail -- I use both Gmail and Comcast mail, can I still use labels with Gmail?
5. I listen to a lot of podcasts and with the Listen app I can update my subscriptions wirelessly, on the iphone do I have to plug it into a computer to use itunes to update?
6. Google Maps -- I know there's no free turn by turn, but is the maps app on the iphone as deep with regards to different types of routes and options?
7. Biking/Hiking -- I do both of these activities and use the My Tracks app, is there something equivalent on the iphone that tracks speed, elevation, and shows your course?